Spend a Day in My Head

Spend the day in my head
I welcome you in.
Come learn what its like
to live inside my skin.

We start very early
Barking wakes us from slumber
Pushing away the dream memories
Of violence and thunder

We wake up exhausted
We don’t recall why
Chalk it up to our dream life
And let out a sigh

Avoiding the lights
and the sound of alarms
You can’t rush this process
Or the pain comes in swarms

Relish this moment
Before it sours
You won’t know this quiet
for twenty four hours

Slowly we enter
the socialized day
Paying clerks at the store
Keeping drivers at bay

Arriving at work
Anticipating the task
We walk to the building
Adjusting the mask

And so it begins, the hurdle race fences
Juggling workload and questions
While tapping all senses.

Hear all the words spoken
Feel what they don’t say
Know when they’re fearful
Watch thoughts slip away

I cannot convey
I cannot explain it
I barely know how
To begin to contain it

Constant exposure
to smell, sound and sight
From the moment of waking
until the silence of night

And not just exposure
And not just what’s real
To all that is thought of
To what others feel

But you can’t understand it
because you won’t see
Just a few truly know me
Those who are closest to me

I’m tired and spent
When I face every day
Your misjudgment of me
Just plain gets in the way

The lure of the pillow
A double edged sword
The promise of sleep
But the psyche gets worn

For sleep brings no respite
from thoughts deep within
But the solace it gives
is not rememb’ring

Every day is quite full
I just hope that you’ll see
That I’m just being me
As best I can be

Spend day in my head
How I wish that you could
Get exposed to a world
that is filled with crazy and good.

It’s often quite scary
with unceasing action
But the ever-present scent of cookies
Is a decent distraction

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

