Back to Datapoints

I’m tired. I haven’t slept well in almost a month. It’s starting to take it’s toll on me. Undoubtedly it’s taken it’s toll on others already. But that’s neither here nor there at this point.

So I finally got my new ipod cable. I lost the 14 or so I had in the move a year ago and only got around to replacing it recently. You can tell how motivated I am by downloading music on a regular basis and being hip. Not an issue. But I’m looking to see if there’s anything in particular I need, considering my car is now radioless.

I already downloaded the latest F-U songs from P!nk so didn’t need those. Learned fairly quickly I have no idea who most of the people are, and even after previewing the songs, have little or no interest in learning more about them. It’s true, I’m getting old, with or without sleep.

So I decided hey, Apple’s all about usability and appearing to know what people want. And since an iPod is the ONLY apple product I use (when given the choice) I figured what the heck, I’ll give old Steve a shot at making me happy tonight and figuring out what I want.

Have you ever used the recommendation tools in iTunes? I’m old. So many of my choices don’t register. And in all fairness, even I will give in that it would be impossible to judge that someone my age, with the selection of music I have, would utterly and completely HATE Pink Floyd, Yes, and the Grateful Dead (which, by the way, I remember one touching moment when my father actually thanked me, as an adult, for not being a fan of theirs, noting it did alleviate some of the stresses other parents faced during the teen years.)

Looking at the selections I’m just confused. Those silly people (and I say silly generously, I prefer clueless dingbats who think they know what they’re doing, and by that I mean guys, programmer guys who listen to indie rock, NPR, or death metal) clearly have strange ways of developing algorithms to predict what I might be interested in based on my choices. Here’s a hint, Pink and Katy Perry do not belong even remotely together. And hello, how does one get from Bridge Over Troubled Water to Let’s Get Physical? Billy Joel brings up the Monkees? Seriously?

For the sake of my lack of a reputation here on this blog I decided to check out some more recent music to have it at least appear I might not be as old or as lame as I come across in my music taste (much the same way I look for “cool” music to download in case my ipod is ever stolen at least the thieves won’t be disgusted at the enormous amount of crap they have to delete), and there is it. The datapoint connection Amazon had.

Yep, I got a K.d. lang recommendation. Again, not from country music. Take a wild guess. Yep, Melissa Ethridge. Interestingly enough guess who else came up as a recommendation. Yep, Indigo Girls. That’s just rude, ignorant and pathetic.

So to double check on the theory of my obviously correct identification of the lazy, useless sad little cretin male programmers of the recommendation algorithms, I did a little test. George Michael (shut up, you know you listen to him too) brought up Madonna, Cher and Elton John recommendations. Elton, however, brought up Chicago, Rolling Stones, Billy Joel and Eric Clapton. Maybe they didn’t know and mistook his colorful glitter cape for 70s fashion.

Ok, one more, just so you don’t steal my ipod …. I checked Andrea Bocelli. You will never believe this, Lil Wayne, Nicki Minaj and Pitbull. Just goes to show you those Italians do have pull when enforcing their cool, hip reputations, earned or not. At least somebody can influence Steve Jobs.

Too much worry over relying on datapoints to identify my interests or predict my behavior. Even apple, with all it’s people-centric data and soft-skill programming couldn’t get their heads out of their arrogant ignor-anuses (yes, I pulled a Palin and made up a word because I am too tired to use both. It’s a good one, too, so feel free to use it) to actually have a clue. Steve, I took a chance and gave you one, and once again, you failed me.

Regardless, I’m not relying on these dopes to pick what I’m interested in. I’ll just ask my kid what’s cool.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Business & Strategy, Serious Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Back to Datapoints

  1. Pingback: Defining My Personal Brand « What's On LJ's Mind

Leave a Reply

