Inspection

I’m back at the mechanic’s place to have the emissions rechecked for the inspection after the battery change. I’m not pleased about this. Not that it had to be done but in the way it was handled.

I told them the battery needed to be changed last week when I came in. An honest professional would tell me on the spot the issue and let me know the inspection could not be done on a new battery. Instead they stayed silent. This way they got two sales at least, the battery and the inspection. And once on the hook more got tacked on.

Today I know, even though it’s projecting, that this mechanic will not complete the fix of what he broke. I have that expectation because he proved in the initial interaction to be dishonest. I’m only back here because I had to pay up front. I have no doubt he’ll tell me he can fix the part he broke (which he’ll couch as a coincidence) for a price.

Someone I know likes to say that if you believe something or not, either way you’re right. I do not agree with him. Thought is not magic and can’t make a scammer into a saint. It can only delay the truth coming out right away. Perhaps for some a delay is long enough. Especially when the relationships are intended to be short lived from the start.

I don’t operate that way. And maybe that’s the problem. I don’t go into new situations expecting them to eventually suck. And more often than not I get burned by it. And it becomes my fault. Kind of a twisted perspective of an optimist.

Instead, I live a RICH life, one based on the principles of Respect, Integrity, Consideration and Honesty. It is hurtfully disappointing when those I interact with choose to manipulate those principles for their own gain.

I don’t matter much to this mechanic. He has enough business I guess. I just don’t get why he felt it appropriate to deceive and annoy a new customer who dropped over $600 on the first visit. I’ve got an old car that needs work. It could have been a long standing relationship. And this mechanic is also a sales dealer.

He lost a lifetime customer over what amounts to the price of an inspection. His deception frustrated me. But it lost him more in the long run.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

