The sound of non-silence

So I’m stuck here on the computer. Caught up on news, checked the gossip sites, researched symptoms of mysterious aches and pains, read my twitter feed that I hadn’t checked in a while until I got a cramp from scrolling. I checked the Amazon deal of the hour, perused the online shopping channels and did a few google searches on things I have no interest in under my logged in ID just to tick off the search algorithms.

I’m bored. I could watch TV, there’s one available in the house while hubby scours iTunes for his bike rides. But, I’m sitting here by the window to watch for when the rain starts, to let the dogs in. So it’s a quiet, restful evening at home, with nothing pressing to do. Should be relaxing. But I feel like I’m just biding my time until bedtime.

It’s too soon to let the dogs in, they’ll just whine to go out. They’re barking occasionally as a cat walks through the yard, or a lightning bug blips on, at an interval just short of comforting. The child is playing the latest xbox live game of destruction with his online buddies, so the chatter is always going, in addition to the noise from the game, and a random “Bong, bong bong bong … dude, no, go this way” being yelled from within 14.5″ from the big screen television.

And then there’s Lucy. Lucy doesn’t like to be ignored. She’s a blue and gold macaw, a young one, only 4 years old. That means she’s a very loud, very messy, very needy toddler bird. She’s learning new words and is VERY proud of now being able to Ribbit, in addition to her Woof Woof and Quack Quack. She is not at ALL interested in learning to meow, it makes her yell. She thoroughly enjoys a good game of blah blah. Blah Blah is when she starts off saying Blah blah, and you HAVE to answer with the exact number of blahs that she does. Then she switches it up, and if you don’t follow suit with the right intonation, she’ll yell. You don’t want to hear a young macaw yell, or rather, despite the doors being closed, my NEIGHBORS, 3 doors down, don’t want to. The dogs could care less.

Right now she’s making gurgling noises, and some whiney sounds. She’s trying to engage in Peekaboo, which she can say for hours, in rapid succession, which then quickly transitions into her mimicking the sound of the battle guns in the xbox game and eventually ends up with her laughing at herself, which in turn ticks off my son who assumes she’s laughing at him, which at times she most definitely does. I have learned that someone in the house must be suffering from allergies, because she’s been sneezing a lot.

We have another bird, too, Jennifer, but she’s being quiet. She rustles around in her cage, shuffling her 2 ping pong balls that she thinks are eggs to fit underneath her with the additional raspberry rippled puppy kong toy, which I assume she just likes sitting on since it looks nothing at all like an egg. Yes, I have tried removing the ping pong balls, but honestly, she’s a rather nasty parrot at times and will strike to draw blood, especially when after her ping pong ball. I have gotten them away, but without them, she’ll just lay more eggs. She’s a real sweetie though, at times. She cuddles and kisses, and likes to be friendly, but you have to stay alert because she doesn’t growl until you’re actually out of beak range.

So on this lovely, rainy, blisteringly humid Tuesday evening I’m surrounding by the wonderful sounds of normal life in my home. Oh, Jenny just brrrrippped. One of the dogs just barked, and Lucy answered with her own woof. Jennifer climbed her cage and demanded fresh water (she’s a little diva, can’t go more than a few hours without having her water refreshed. ) Hubby surfaced, came scrounging for coffee, and venting about the latest political debate BS on the news over the debt ceiling.

As it turns out, this is quiet, restful relaxing evening at home. Yep, life IS good!

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

