Yet another straw

Woke up to an angry husband today. As this heatwave continues, stresses extend, and patience evaporates. This morning upon waking he informed me that the central AC in the house is no longer working. Of course this couldn’t happen during normal business hours .

I dug out our home warranty policy and called. After waiting an hour with static-laced muzak, someone finally came on to take my call. Despite entering every single detail of information that could possibly pertain to any question they have, based on their automated prompts, as expected, the person on the other end must have just come on her shift and in an effort to ensure top level attention, did not delay in catering to me with minor details such as checking the info. (Yes, I know, the prompts are there only to break up some of the wait time on hold and don’t actually record anything, they just make us feel like we’re partaking in the process.).

I gave her all the info, and of course, since afterall, this in an insurance company, her first order of business is to give me all the crap news, like, you MAY be responsible for X, you might be responsible for Y, if after the initial inspection your claim IS covered (lady, please, at least lets keep up the pretense that this isn’t a scam and since it’s a regular issue it will be covered.), I would therefore be responsible for all costs. She didn’t outright say it, but I know those include bon-bons for her team, new tires for the repairmans truck, and an annoyance fee for actually having to deal with a customer. Insurance people, I am sure, are by nature evil schemers with no respect for human beings likely because they have a genetic makeup that is devoid of humanity.

But I digress. The repair person is due sometime this afternoon to diag (which I guess is more corporate blather BS to mean diagnose. Why shouldn’t they have their own lingo, since the rest of corporate america decides to make up their own stupid phrases to make them sound important and as if they bring value, which in most instances they don’t, like “let’s dialogue about that”, or “when we have our ideation session”. It’s just crap, speak English people, spend less time making up phrases and more time actually doing something. Again with the digression, but I’m allowed, it’s hot and my head is melting and I’m writing to help diffuse the frustration and deep-seeded bitterness that comes with heatwaves, technology breakdowns, and dealing with insurance people.

So “sometime this afternoon” the repair person will get there. We’re now 2 hours into the afternoon, so I’m guessing 4:45 and of course he won’t be able to get the parts until Tuesday, if it’s even covered, which I’m sure they have buried in the contract that outdoor central AC units that are actually stored outdoors are not covered, etc.

At the end of the day, this is annoying. I work hard and pay for things to work, be covered, and maintained, in accordance with the contracts, agreements, and understanding of the costs paid and services rendered. Every day of my life, as a consumer, I am held to why companies are not responsible for their own deliverables or accountable for their own failures. I’d sure like to get in on that racket on the other side at least once in my life. It’s annoying, but … we have power, so we have options. Last year when we moved in we did not have power, it was during a heat wave, and a tornado stuck the property the day before closing. Sure, better the day before than the day after, I get it. I’m just not in the mood to be grateful right now, I’m frustrated and angry. And I have a right to be.

Along the same lines, I was going through files looking for paperwork for the insurance, and came across older posts and writings about days like this, months like this, years like this. Strangely they don’t give a sense of relief that I’m not going through THAT anymore. Instead it’s like wow, no wonder I’m tired and frustrated. Things just keep getting piled on. People tell me I’m strong, but I don’t think I am, I just do what is needed to survive. I have a right to not want to be grateful. I am grateful, I am. I know that things could be worse, believe me, I know that. But I could sure use a break. These straws just drop from the sky on a regular basis that it becomes almost normal, and tolerable, at least for other people when they drop them. “It’s just a little mint” said the waiter, … and ka-blaam …. “just a ‘wef-fur’ mint”. But hey, that restaurant in that movie had AC.

UPDATE: Repairman came earlier than expected. Changed the capacitor. Cold air is now blowing through our house again. All covered by insurance. Guess I got the break I needed!!!!!

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

