Flip Flop Season is Over

This is it, the end of summer is upon us. For some, school has already started back, for others, it’s imminent. As a people, we grasp at the last strands of summer lamenting the loss of a carefree time and switching back to the focus and hunkering down for the beginning of a new year. (Somehow the early conditioning to a school year set in deeply and we haven’t been able to get past that.)

Today I’ve heard a number of people telling how they plan to cram in a beach weekend, drink to oblivion, or skip out for one last jaunt before fall settles in. The funny thing is, summer isn’t over, fall isn’t here, and most people didn’t get a vacation, and the months that fall during the summer season are not at all carefree at work, so why does this changing of time affect us so much?

For me I’m happy. The weather is now on a downward spiral to fall temperatures. I like those. Humidity is easing up, I like that even better. The risk of sunburn decreases, although always a risk, but I can stand outside for more than 4 minutes without starting the get that tell tale whiff of the scent of my own burning flesh.

But most of what makes this a favorite time of year for me is the change of footwear. This is perhaps the biggest bonus for me.  I don’t like feet. Sandal season is rough for me. I don’t want to see your latest pedicure, that strange twist in your third toe is bad enough, don’t make me have to listen to how you banged it into the bedpost when you were 11. Also when you’re in meetings where there isn’t a table, you should probably know that you inadvertently twist and wriggle that gnarly clown foot of yours, scrunching your toes in awkward positions. It’s gross. Having you show me your latest anklet is verging on crossing the line, but if you start a conversation about toe rings I will have to remove myself from the situation. So sandal season is not a fun time. Don’t get me wrong, there are some very nice and work appropriate sandals, if your company allows that in their dress code, but there are also other types that are not as stylish for the rest of us.

Sandals without backs flop. The sound of them flip flop flopping around the office is annoying. It is possible to walk in them without making that sound, or the sound of sliding, so please if you must wear them, learn how to walk in them appropriately. Yes, I know they’re called flip flops because of the noise they make, but the most appropriate time to make that noise is when your gum chewing drowns out the sound. (For those at work who are reading this and say hah, I’m ok, pay attention: the gum chewing flip flopping comment was snarky. Neither is appropriate in the work place. It’s appropriate only if you’re name is Snookie.)

The passing of Labor Day marks the time when most switch off flip flops for the year, at least in the work place. Of course, some will wear them at home or in gym showers (where they were originally intended to be used!), but as long as I don’t have to hear the incessant flop flop flop in the workplace, and be subjected to seeing people’s toes at every meeting, I’m a happier person. So let’s fully embrace the onset of the next season; the fourth quarter of the year. This is a time of happiness and joy because it marks the beginning of about 6 months of being flip flop free at work.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

