A Case of the Giggles

I get the giggles sometimes, as expected as the most inappropriate times. I don’t get them nearly as often as I used to and I assumed that was because of age. I’m not referring to the girly giggles, where you talk about liking a boy, or that obviously clueless person who wore THAT. I’m not that girl, I’ve never been that girl. I’m also not talking about boy giggles, where you laugh at farts or silly things Michael on The Office says.

The giggles can be the ones that you cannot control and end up causing you to tear up. Those are the best. But as I started thinking, they seem to come out of the worst … most of the giggles in adulthood come from extremely stressful situations when the dumbest thing occurs. As if it’s a pin in a balloon, diffusing stress.

In my previous job I got them a lot. We all did. We also had an inordinate amount of yelling and inappropriate outbursts of anger, and we even used to take each other outside “on a lunge line” when we could see it building without an outlet in sight.  It was pretty raw there, but there’s a certain honesty in rawness.

Then there are just the silly things, the inside jokes you have with yourself. There’s no one there to share them with, so you have yourself a moment, and you feel better. Those I like too. I get those when someone hiccups, I don’t know why, but I can’t help it. I know someone else who gets them when someone trips or falls. I’m trying to learn that one because I like the idea of it.

I giggled today. I was poking around Amazon and I saw my recommendations. There were self-help audio books. I giggled. Not because of the self-help books (although I’m curious as to why they would be on my recommendations list, probably due to the inordinate amount of David Sedaris books I’ve purchased or added to my save for later car — what can I say, he makes me feel normal), but because they were audiobooks.

Audio self-help books. It’s rather pathetic. It made me  giggle to myself.

Someone, somewhere, hopefully the publisher, is giggling like a schoolgirl. How sad is it to offer self-help audio books? I mean come on, first it’s not funny enough to offer self-help books? You can’t help yourself, or ask for help, you have to buy a book that spells it out step by step. They all say the same thing, they just spin the same message to different audiences and topics (will yourself rich/thin/healthy/smart/datable/a leader).

It doesn’t much matter what it says inside, or how they couch it, self-help books are purchased and never read. They’re like the exercise equipment we all buy, thinking just paying for them will make us fit. We don’t actually USE them (except to hang clothes on to air dry).

Self-help books are adorable. If you buy one it says a lot about you. It says:

  1. you are miserable about something
  2. you don’t have friends to ask
  3. you don’t have cash or dignity for a co-pay for a shrink
  4. you buy into the hype that you’re not good enough
  5. you miss Oprah

If you buy an audio-self help book it says:

  1. You don’t have the time or inclination to actually READ the book, you have to squeeze it in while you’re doing something else.
  2. You’re going to multitask yourself out of your self-imposed workaholic rut.
  3. You want someone else to tell you personally how to fix yourself.
  4. You’re willing to stake your happiness/success/mental health on a prerecorded message.
  5. The book won’t help.

People who are so miserable that they can’t even READ a pathetic canned self-help book so they buy an audio version makes me giggle. The publishers are geniuses. Good for them.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Case of the Giggles

  1. I think what you’r experiencing is gas.

  2. Pingback: Blog Traffic « What's On LJ's Mind

Leave a Reply

