Voice Recordings

Do you remember the first time you heard a recording of your voice? I’m not referring to a singing competition or demo album. Just in general life. Was it watching a family event over video or movie playback? Voicemail.

I remember mine, it was a cassette. We lived far away when we were little and would periodically receive messages from relatives tucked in packages on cassette tapes. We’d put them in and then listen to their stories or conversations. Then we’d record our own and send them back. The first time I heard mine I was horrified.

It was so squeaky, so tinny, so young. I was 7 or 8, but somehow that still mattered then. No amount of explanations would convince me that’s not what I always sounded like.

Over the years there have been so many more, on an answering machine, a few more cassettes to friends while in college, over a loud speaker in a store I worked in, over a seemingly endless series of work voicemails, but nothing compared to the first time I heard my own voice.

This struck me tonight as my son was creating a video commentary on the latest video game release to upload to youtube.

He doesn’t remember the first time he heard a recording of himself.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

