Please Refund my Copays ….

WRITER’S NOTE: There seems to be some misunderstanding that I am dredging up a story from 30 years ago for the sake of telling a 30 year old story.  People … it’s not the story, it’s the message. Read to the end. (duh)

====================

One summer when I was younger, when I was still in high school, I remember waking up late in the morning only to find the standard kid-version of the “honey do list”. This one had a section for me and a section for my brother, who was also still in high school at the time.

I got to work on my list and completed it. As was always the case, my brother and I got into a “discussion” (we’re adults now, we call them “discussions”, but when you’re living in the same house and are teenagers they were actually all out fights) before he completed his list.

At one point in the “discussion” he took off his shoe and threw it at me. I ducked and it flew through the kitchen window, breaking the pane. That made him angrier, because now he had to go out, buy a new pane, and fix the window, which he promptly did.

When my mother returned home my brother was just finishing up the window. She saw his list had not been completed. I got in trouble for not helping him finish his list when clearly he needed help. Now, he had gotten up significantly later than I did, started his chore list well after, and then in the midst of a particularly heated “discussion” tried to assault me. Because I ducked I was held responsible for him not being able to complete his list. He didn’t get in trouble.

It has cost a lot of copays to come to terms with being told that was not normal. I think I should get a refund.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Business & Strategy, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

