I’m Getting Too Old for This Shit

Twenty years ago I was a mess. I had just started on a life changing journey that turned out very differently than expected. I made a deal and put my entire future in the hands of my guardian angels. I say angels because back up was surely needed.

As I look back at that time, at a time I can only imagine, I know learned the true value of hangovers. They give our guardian angels a chance to regroup and regenerate, to watch over us anew.

I am very thankful that I came up short on the deal I made back then, because while I had thought at the time it was losing, instead I soon learned it was truly a win.

My life changed twenty years ago because I was given the strength (even if it was based on a lost bet at first) to change it. I didn’t follow the rules, changed everything within three months and then changed it all again right after. That’s just how I do things. But the themes are mostly consistent, the challenges, frustrations, fears, they all remain, just as they have always been. In many ways I am still that same person I was back then, and leading up to that fateful week that began with my birthday.

It hasn’t been an easy twenty years. It’s been amazing and beautiful, but most definitely not easy. For the longest time I have felt like I am trapped in a Jet Li movie for different parts of my life, but each time I face the kicks it works out far better than expected. There’s still this one part …..

I suppose instead of comparing it to Jet Li movie, I should view it as a Lethal Weapon one, since in those there are moments of respite, great outcomes, and comedic interludes.

Seriously though, I am getting too old for this shit.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

