Almost But Not Quite Monday (Tuesday)

It’s Tuesdays. Tuesdays are the weekday equivalent of the middle child: they don’t get appreciated for how miserable they can be since they’re always overshadowed by the crushing power of Mondays, and they never get recognized for anything good because they’re not even the halfway mark like Wednesdays.

Someone once explained the work week to me once, and you can see even in this, Tuesdays get lost:

  • Monday
  • Not Monday
  • Hump Day
  • Friday Eve
  • I’m outta here

Tuesdays pack some punch, though, don’t get me wrong. They can suck like no body’s business. I used to work at a place where the departmental staff meetings were Wednesdays, so Tuesdays were always data days. That meant not only dealing with annoyingly slow data retrieval systems, but also the performance numbers which as one using logic would expect, tended to suck due to lack of budget or proper authority to plan and develop.Those were always bad days. Very bad.

But some days Tuesdays are just that, not Mondays, and stuck in the first half of the week. They’re the almost but not quite Monday, and almost but not quite Wednesday. Even the little annoyances don’t measure up, but are still worth noting.

I have found that Tuesdays, especially Tuesdays during the time just after the holidays, and before anything much to look forward nears, are good times to figure out dosages.

For example: Winter is typically a month that brings on colds. Perfect for Tuesdays, because they’re not quite debilitating enough to stay home, but not quite manageable enough to allow for peak performance.Tuesdays lend themselves nicely to figuring out the right mixture of cold and allergy medicines, combined with cough medicine and throat drops.

Today I got it wrong. I woke up groggy from the nighttime cold medicine and with a sore throat from the overindulgence of the cooling fan to stave off the night fevers. Adding the daytime cold medicine with the allergy pills (something will have to work to dry up the runny nose) and the extra sugary cough medicine screws with the calming and frenzy balance. Of course if the head was clear, I would have realized that adding the non-stop sugary cough drops throughout the day would have added to the buzz, but that’s the point, I don’t have a clear head.

So I ended up coming up with more and more snarky comments, and eventually found myself on one of the online shopping channels. I saw their recently aired shows and a goofy smile came over my face as I read “Household Helpers”.

Imagine my surprise when instead of the expected cut hot young men eager to help out around the house I found listings for rags and Roombas. How utterly disappointing. I guess that channel and I have different ideas of helping out around the house.

Time for another dose.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Humor and Comedy, Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

