Because You Noticed

I have had friendships, acquaintances, and moments in time when I have leaned on and allowed others to lean on me, to help through both difficult and happy times. I have had an impact on others, and left a mark on them, their families, and communities, as they have all had on me.

This happened only because you noticed.

In my career I have developed materials and programs that affected people, customers, patients, doctors, and business owners. I have contributed a great deal to the success of others, and have trained many younger folks along the way.

I have been able to do this because you noticed.

I have a great family. A husband who loves me and I him, a son who is amazing, a series of crazy animals, and a happy and warm place to live. It is a nest, a respite, a haven and a forever place.

And I have this because you noticed.

I got my oil changed today, picked up lunch, ran some errands. I played with my dogs and teased my kid. I helped my husband with an assignment. I gasped in professional horror at a particularly awful commercial, and laughed as my bird finally meowed after months of teaching her. It was a perfect day.

And it was possible because you noticed.

As I watched as a difficult week came to a close, as the “Going Home” ceremony for Whitney Houston was televised, I thought … if only someone noticed in time. But someone did, so many did. We have no idea how many times someone noticed her and what was happening to her, and how many times they stepped in to help. It reminded me that every single time that happened, it meant every thing.

Those she’s left behind shouldn’t doubt that they could have done more, or that they should have checked in, or they should have knocked sooner. They had. And every time they did it went unnoticed by most. The simple act of noticing each time made the difference in the lives of so many. They should not feel guilt or anger at not noticing, they should marvel in how many times they did.

Towards the end of the ceremony someone said, “I’m here because you were there.”  That’s when I knew I had to say thank you.

I am here because you noticed.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

