Annual pet spending reaches all-time high

Ok, this is my chance to get some bitterness out.

This goes out to each one of you who snickered, mocked, laughed, and made condescending and disparaging remarks to me and to others about my interests and business ideas.

This goes out to anyone who has questioned or doubted my true ability to understand consumer behavior better then some others.

To you I professionally and eloquently say, SUCK IT.

APPA: Annual pet spending reaches all-time high – http://pulse.me/s/6yOXM

During a crappy economy spending on pets ROSE. If you don’t understand why it’s because you have no soul and you do not understand consumers in the least.

If you read the first part and say well, it’s natural, food and medical, and decide that’s enough to feel better about your short-sighted vision, you missed the “b” in billions and missed the key part.

Because I care (and possibly because I’m feeling a bit smug) I’ve included the key part right here for you.

But it was a service category — one that includes grooming, boarding, pet hotels, pet-sitting and day care — that grew more than any other, surging 7.9 percent from $3.51 billion in 2010 to $3.79 billion in 2011.

7.9%. Did you get that?!?

Now, because I am smug and right, it does not mean that the sting isn’t there. I have not acted on my ideas or business plan to capitalize on what I knew I was always right about. I admit I have been paralyzed into non-action by doubters and lack of funding.

But in answer to the age old question, would you rather be right or happy, I say…..

You were wrong.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Business & Strategy, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Annual pet spending reaches all-time high

  1. It’s disgusting how much some pets will spend. It must be stopped.

    • LJ says:

      Your sarcasm doesn’t come across in print. You know damn well that once contraception is paid for by insurance you’ll be using that extra cash to take your cats for spa days.

Leave a Reply

