Motivation

Teamwork despair.com

Neither the Carrot nor the Stick Works

I don’t like carrots and sticks will get you a lawsuit.

Teamwork sucks. It doesn’t mean that sunshine-up-the-butt rally call. Those who use the phrase like to conveniently forget about that whole “weakest link” thing, and instead choose to turn a blind eye as the few members take on the load of the others, while the others coast along to undeserved promotions and higher pay.

I was in a company meeting once and the head of the company used that the line “together each achieving more”. From the back a squeal of excitement came followed by uncontrolled happy giggles and the phrase “Oh gosh, that’s just so precious.” Now THAT was great! Teamwork in reality should be spelled with two Es because that’s what it ends up being when the rest of the team doesn’t do their work.

I’m tired of seeing others not being asked to step up. Tired of seeing them getting preferential treatment. Tired of still, in light of this, working my ass off because I have self respect. I’m just tired of giving a crap.

I take pride in what I do, I have respect for the caliber of output I give. I take little solace in realizing that few actually do, which is how they just don’t care about finishing things they started, or even doing them right at all.

Done isn’t always good, mainly because done isn’t always done.

The Weakest Link - despair.com

When I was six years old I got yelled at for crying in class and sent to the Principal’s office. It was the first day of first grade. The teacher, who was an authority figure, was pretty smug in the power she held over those in her control. Her ego was pretty healthy. She was sure I was being disruptive for the sake of being disruptive or being a whiney little kid on the first day of school. She was sure she was right, and she was happy about it. Content in her power-filled directive to label me a problem and switfly threaten me with “punishment”.

The office immediately sent me to the nurses office because it was clear that my wrist, which I had fallen on and had been crying over, was crooked and severely broken. I was 6 years old. It’s still with me.

Apparently the teacher’s ego, like most, was founded on her title and position alone, not on her capabilities. And in the end, she was wrong, and her ego took a pretty serious hit (if only temporarily, because even in elementary school, those who have power over anyone or anything quickly find a way to rationalize their “accrued” power and wield it like a young boy learning to pee standing up for the first time.)

That same teacher, along with many after her, always said when I asked them why they kept giving me more work than the others, and graded me harder than the others, that she expected more out of me because I could do more.

So essentially I was taught from an early age to allow myself to be taken advantage of, make excuses for it, and “eat it”. Too all those who didn’t have that happen to them in school, take a gander as to why … duh. Yea, I know, you get paid more and do less, I’m the asshole.

To that first grade teacher who started the trend, I have to say I think I hate her and every one who ever taught her to be like that. I think I do, but that would mean apparently I have to hate most of the population I encounter and all those who they learned from.

Don’t get me wrong, I have pretty strong feelings about a lot of people, but to be relegated to hating most of the population is truly not fair, and to then have it blamed on me being negative is, well, just plain old unfair bullshit.

I don’t have a negative attitude, I’m just exhausted.

  • I am worth more.
  • I don’t do this for you. I do this for me.
  • I know you are taking advantage of that.
  • It will cost you more in the end.

I’m tired. That should scare you.

photos: these are from despair.com, a great site offering demotivational posters.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Business & Strategy, Humor and Comedy, Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Motivation

  1. It’s like those group assignments education administrators are so fond of. Yeah, I’ll assign a group project when I really want to see what two people out of eight are going to produce!

Leave a Reply

