Validation and Hope

Alma Mater

A Season of Triggers

This election season has been devastating. So many of us have watched as examples from our lives flash before us over and over and over again for the world to see. Times when we were always told it was something about us, as individuals, that was a problem, that was wrong, that shouldn’t speak up or out.

The threats, spoken and unspoken, the underlying micro-aggressions and accepted derogatory behavior. No, we’re not playing the woman card, we’re playing the person card. We have a voice, be it shrill or nasty, unsmiling or emotional, it’s a legitimate voice that has validated us.

Empowerment

To the boss who said:
“You’re overreacting.”
I’m with Her

To the business partner who asked:
“When are you going to get married already?”
I’m with Her

To the mentor who told our colleagues:
“I hit that.”
I’m with Her

To the male coworker who said:
“I could never let my wife earn more than me.”
I’m with Her

To everyone who asked:
“What were you wearing”
I’m with Her

To the professor who said:
“Wear a skirt or I will fail you. Girls wear skirts.”
I’m with Her

To the 5th grade teacher who said:
“Girls aren’t supposed to speak out like that.”
I’m with Her

To the boss who said, disparagingly:
“You make us feel stupid.”
I’m with Her

To my mom who said:
“Be yourself, just not so much of it.”
I’m With Her

To the guy on the in the restaurant who said:
“Smile more, you’re prettier then.”
I’m with Her

To the boyfriend who said about my needing to study:
“You don’t need to worry your pretty head about that.”
I’m with Her

To my grandmother who asked, after I graduated college:
“Are you going to secretarial school?”
I’m with Her

To the CFO of the company who said, astonished:
“You make more than some of the guys here.”
I’m with Her.

To the coworker who said about the lies and rumor spewing bullies:
“Just ignore them.”
I’m with Her

To the business owner who told me to be more vulnerable because:
“Men find that more attractive.”
I’m with Her

To the friend who grabbed me through my sweatshirt, saying:
“I wondered if you had tits.”
I’m with Her

To the colleague who shook his pelvis at me and said:
“You know you want this.”
I’m with Her

To the boss who said:
“Ambition isn’t attractive in a woman.”
I’m with Her

To the school official when registering my son who commented snidely:
“So you work outside the home.”
I’m with Her

To the teachers growing up who said:
“Act like a girl.”
I’m with Her

To the head of the sales department who said:
“I’d like to donkey punch you.”
I’m with Her

To the first grade teacher who told me:
“No one likes a smart girl.”
I’m with Her

To the supervisor who told me:
“Ignore him, don’t respond to his taunts.”
I’m with Her

To the HR person who said:
“What do you want me to do about it.”
I’m with Her

… there are so many more …

But most importantly, ….

Because she’s the most goddamned qualified, experienced, and prepared person for the job.
I’m with Her

Because she’s got policies to help and continue to move our country forward, to be truly unified, with liberty and justice for all, including women.
I’m with Her

So I’m voting for the best candidate, not because she’s a woman, but because

She. Is. The. Most. Qualified.

I’m with Her.
I’ve always been with Her.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings, Stories (Creative Writing) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

