I’m > You

67808219

I “Know” Things

Get used to hearing this phrase and others like it. If you’re new to this game, let me give you a few of the variations:

  • Other people have said
  • People have asked me
  • I’ve done my own research
  • Look, I have sources you don’t
  • I’ve spoken to people who were there

This is a common tactic used by many who are trying to put themselves in a position of power, to present themselves as someone who is more informed, more worthy of information, more in the know.

They’re not.

It’s a tactic often used by narcissists, but lets be honest, it’s a tactic used by insecure people all over. It’s also a tactic used by men, mostly.

But you’ll all get to hear it frequently, as the most insecure stain on civilization comes to power and his flying monkeys and minions spread his blather and lies all over the place. This tactic will be used to justify all his idiotic behavior, because he has a need to the most important, informed, intelligent person alive. He’s not, he’s none of those things.

It’s not enough to be Right, Other’s must be Wrong

As an intelligent female, it’s a phrase I’ve heard all my life, most often by those in authority positions. It’s designed to put you in your place by insecure people who have no other retort. It’s also the same tactic used by bitchy teenage girls in junior high school cliques.

So if you’ve been a teenage girl who’s attended junior high (or middle school) you recognize this and are taken aback when an adult uses it. Because you know it’s a pathetic attempt that didn’t work at 14. It serves to uncover the pathetic insecurity of the one delivering the phrase in a sad attempt at a power grab, while simultaneously being condescending.

I’ve heard this frequently throughout the campaign, and most disturbingly from those who are NOT in favor of the organge ignoramus. It’s a consistent phrase, using the same words, themes, and delivery as if they were given the script in a secret society (much like the twitter trolls and surrogates follow the talking points of the day). It goes like this:

“I’m no fan of Trump, and will not/did not vote for him, but I am not a fan of HRC. I know what you’re going to say, but look, I’ve done my own research into her, I’ve been around, I’ve got access to inside information, and well …. ”

No, you don’t

You’d Tell Your Stories If You Had Them

If that information was available to be had, it would be out there. It’s plain old mansplaining, because it’s always men who deliver that condescending crap. It is merely a way to continue the misogyny that is so deeply ingrained in our culture it’s despicable.

Be prepared to be called out on it. We’re calling it out. There’s a good chance you don’t even realize it’s condescending, and you’re first reaction will be that it’s an overreaction, but it’s not. That is exactly the sexism that is the problem. You don’t get a pass for not realizing it anymore. No more passes. No more.

You don’t have more information. If you did, you’d say it.

I’ll Gladly Share

I know people who worked for Trump. I have heard many stories. I don’t have a confidentiality agreement and can tell the stories I heard. The people I know, do, and so it’s not going to be published with names, but for regular conversation, I’ll tell the stories, and your knees will buckle. Just as if you had the information you say you did, you would share it as well.

So understand this, when you hear those phrases, when you use those phrases, it means nothing more than the one saying them are insecure liars looking at self-aggrandizing to cover up a perceived failure. It’s nothing more than a bullying remark used to end a discussion.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Oddities, Reactions (Stories) and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

