Integrity

6360792166475137441670127988_integrity

Integrity matters.

These are frustrating times, but to be honest, they all have been.

Call me naive, tell me I have trust issues, overly high expectations. Tell me I’m too sensitive. Go ahead, I have. I’ve used those words to explain the ways I am accountable for creating my own chaos and frustration.

I’ve spent thousands of dollars on working through it. And yet …

I still want to scream and break things when people let me down. Expecting integrity and honesty is not a high expectation. I will not be accountable for others letting me down any more.

Respect, Integrity, Consideration, Honesty.

These are not, should not be, considered too high expectations. 


I recently became aware of a situation that made me feel as if I’d been punched in the stomach.

It involved a previous personal/business relationship that required vulnerability, openness, and honesty. One that included dealing with and overcoming very difficult and soul bearing discussions and work.

It was one that involved trust, at the very core.

The outcome, in the end, was beneficial for me, that is not disputed. But I cannot help but wonder what it would have been like, what it could have been like, what it SHOULD have been like.

It made me disappointed not only in the entire interaction, but also in the other person. It felt like a betrayal of the very trust that was elicited.

And that’s not on me.

About Laurissa Doonan

I'm a marketer. I've been a professional marketer for over 25 years, but in reality, I have always been one. Marketing to me is about communicating effectively, regardless of platform, regardless of channel. Marketing is understanding both your objectives and your audience, and finding the right method and message for your customers to reach them where they are. Now I dedicate my efforts to helping very small and small companies pursue their passions and grow their businesses through marketing; providing agency trained expertise without the overhead. www.Charter-Marketing.com www.CharterMarketing.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Business & Strategy, Reactions (Stories), Serious Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

